D Denis-Acre Half photos
Chenge starts, Oliech at FB as Impala heads to KCB
By Eric Njiru | Fri 15 Feb, 2019 10:44

KCB make up to four changes from the side that beat Strath to the team to play Impala Saracens in the 10th round of the 2018/19 Kenya Cup on Sat Feb 16, 2019 in Ruaraka. 

Kenya Simbas 2018 captain Davies Chenge is up for his first start of the season since the Rugby World Cup repechage and replaces Nick Ongeri in the second row. The latter also played his first game last weekend since last season’s Kenya Cup final. 

Scrum-half Samuel Asati replaces Michael Wanjala(bench), Essau Otieno comes in for Brian Omondi(bench) as the second five-eighth while Kenya 7s captain Jacob Ojee starts on the blind wing replacing Stafford Abeka. 

Felix Ojoo is back on the blind-side swapping with Brian Nyikuli(bench) as KCB seek a ninth win of the season. 

Impala debut

Ugandan Saul Kivumbi is handed is maiden for Impala Saracens, from the bench that has also Edmund Anya, Richard Sidingi and Kevin Okeyo. 

Sammy Oliech is back to the fray after sitting out in the win over Oilers and takes over from Sidindi at fullback as Xavier Bett starts at fly-half to see Antony Nyandigisi move to midfield and Samson Onsomu traditionally at number 9. 

The only front-row change sees Davies Makori replaces Edwin Gatungo(bench). In the backline, Derrick Mayar(blind wing) replaces Bradley Ochieng. 

Impala head to the Den remembering they were the only side to stop the unbeaten KCB last season when they played to a 9-9 draw but lost 15-0 in the quarters. KCB are second with 40 points going to matchday 10, four off leaders Kabras while Impala are seventh with 24 points.

1.Oscar Simiyu 2.Peter Karia 3.Curtis Lilako 4.Davies Chenge 5.Oliver Mangeni 6.Andrew Amonde 7.Felix Ojo 8.Peter Waitere 9.Samuel Asati 10.Ahmed Shaban 11.Jacob Ojee 12.Essau Otieno 13.Peter Kilonzo 14.Tony Onyango 15.Darwin Mukidza

16.Griffin Musila 17.Nesta Oketch 18.Nelson Nyandat 19.Ian Indimuli 20.Brian Nyikuli 21.Michael Wanjala 22.Brian Omondi 23.Vincent Onyala

Impala Saracens
15.Sammy Oliech 14.Quinto Oongo 13.Antony Nyandigisi 12.Paul Mutsami 11.Derrick Mayar 10.Xavier Bett 9.Samson Onsomu 1.Edgar Obino 2.Daniel Ndome 3.Kevin Ronnoh 4.Davis Makori 5.Shem Joseph 6.Eric Kerre 7.Elkeans Musonye 8.Joel Omer

16.Collins Chogo 17.Saul Kivumbi 18.Edwin Gatungo 19.Kevin Okeyo 20.Richard Sidindi 21.Mbaka Hannington 22.Edmund Anya 23.Michael Munyua

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment