H Photo by Skarra
Changes galore as Nakuru, Homeboyz face off at NAC
By Patrick Korir | Fri 18 Jan, 2019 10:10

Close to a year back, Homeboyz RFC hit the Western trail down to Nakuru for a showdown with the hosts at the Nakuru Athletics Club. The tie, a Kenya Cup match six clash played on Saturday 20 January 2018, favored them as they came out 23-16 winners.

A year later, the two face off at the same venue on Saturday 19 January, 2019 in a Kenya Cup match day seven tie LIVE on Bamba Sport from 4pm. 

The outlook of the teams have since changed. Nakuru will only be presenting seven of the 23 that featured last year while traveling  Homeboyz can only account for eight of the 23 players that picked that win then. The sum total is up to 31 changes for both side. Off the field, the Deejayz this time round will be led by Coach Simon Odongo who took over from Paul Murunga in November last year.

For Nakuru, only Phillip Owuor and Martin Muita maintain their place at second row and at fly half, respectively while Edwins Makori who partnered Owuor then has moved to play behind the pack at number eight. We will skipper the side replacing last year captain Isaiah Nyariki.

Collins Onyango who was at wing then has moved to full back as Monate Akuei who was at open side flank and Donald Oluoch who was at scrum half both drop to the bench to join Emmanuel Mboya who started off at the same spot in 2018.

For Homeboyz only three of the eight from last year; Thomas Okidia, Evin Asena and Israel Soi maintain their spots as loose head prop, fly half and outside centre, in that order, from last years squad.

Roy Wesonga who started at second row then has shifted to open side flank.

Three others; Patrick Ouko and Aaron Khalechi who completed the starting front row with Okidia then drop to the bench. Khalechi's place has been taken up by Meshack Akenga who started off the bench then.

Leonard Mugaisi is the last of last years lot still in the squad. He started out at right wing but this time round will made the firepower on the bench.

Homeboyz centre Brian Wandera, called in to the new look Kenya 7s for his debut at Hamilton and Sydney 7s, will be missing from the trip down to Nakuru and so is recalled Bush Mwale, full back Micheal Wanjala, promising play maker Johnstone Olindi and utility Cyprian Kuto who wil all hit the skies for the Ocenaia trip.

Nakuru's regular game dictator Geoffrey Ominde will not be part of the game as he has been named for the preceding Eric Shirley clash.

Nakuru RFC

1.Edward Moseti 2.Lucas Obara 3.Ezekiel Waitere 4.Phillip Owuor 5.Moses Okendo 6. Edwin Anunda 7.Teddy Agutu 8.Edwins Makori (Capt) 9.Lorence Ishuga 10.Martin Muita 11.Walter Okoth 12.Kelvin Omiyo 13.Brian Mayaka 14.Collins Onyango 15.Crispin Onyango

16.Emmanuel Mboya 17.James Njenga 18.Innocent Wasilwa 19.Eric Nyangoya 20. Donald Aluoch 21.Tyson Asiago 22. Monate Akuei 23. Dancan Abuyeka


1.Thomas Okidia 2. Joseph Amalemba 3.Meshack Akenga 4.F.Ouma 4. Wallace Onyango 6.Bruce Shiemi 7.Roy Wesonga 8.Stanley Isogol 9. Mohammed Omolo 10. Evin Asena 11.Leon Adongo 12.Muhati 13.Israel Soi 14.Jan Remke 15.Juma

16. Aaron Khalechi 17.Patrick Ouko 18.Elfas Etemesi 19. Paul Akatch 20.Mwanzo 21.Leonard Mugaisi 22.Henry Ayah 23. Mark Ongayo

Patrick Korir
Leave a comment