C Swara
Changes for Eldoret bound Swaras
By Patrick Korir | Fri 18 May, 2018 18:52

Impala's Academy side Swara will be up against North Rift outfit University of Eldoret at Chepkoilel for a winner-takes-all championship playoff on Saturday 19 May starting 3pm.

The home team are in it after ending the second tier championship season ninth there being forced to play one more game to merit a place in the same league next season while Swaras have a stab at a championship slot after losing their nationwide semis tie at the weekend to Kitale RFC.

Also read Championship play-offs refs named

From the squad that repesctably lost to Kitale, four will miss the UoE clash. Steve Okomba and Joseph Munyaka are out and will be replaced by flankers Simon-Peter Ofula and Clinton Musonye.

Injury rules out Brian Muriuki whose place will be taken up by Milton Omondi. Patrick Mawira is in at right wing for Hannington Mmbaka who drops to the bench while Emmanuel Seje and Evans Opiyo are some of the reserves backs brought in as David Macharia is an impact forward off the bench. 

"It's been quite a journey dealing with this Class of 2017-18 Academy. They have shown remarkable progress and can be rightly proud of this campaign," said Fred Ollows, Impala Saracens' rugby director

"This weekend, University of Eldoret (UoE) will be at home but our guys have consistently played well away. They will be looking to end the season on a high. They are keen!" he added


1. Milton Omondi, 2. Ronney Miano, 3. Brian Ochieng, 4. Frank Aduda, 5. Karl Siambe, 6. Simon Peter,  7. Clinton Musonye, 8. Kennedy Mutuma, 9. Dennis Maina, 10. Fidel Mukabwa, 11. Derrick Wechuli,  12. Peter Mwaura, 13. Sammy Kimakwa, 14. HPatrick Mawira, 15. Anthony Omondi

16. Kenneth Murangiri, 17. Emmanuel Seje, 18. Joseph Munyaka, 19. Seth Keter, 20. Evans Opiyo, 21. Sydney Chacha, 22. Hannington Mmbaka, 23. David Macharia

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment