S Photo credit - South African Rugby
Boks edge out Wallabies
By Raga House | Sat 29 Sep, 2018 20:35

South Africa beat visiting Australia 23-12 in a fifth round Rugby Championship clash played at Port Elizabeth on Saturday 28 September.

The Springboks outscored Australia three tries to two, had two successive conversions against one, and added three penalties to win it. 

They led 20-12 at the break and kept the Wallabies scoreless in the second half while adding a penalty of their own for the win that follows on a memorable 36-34 triumph over hosts New Zealand two weeks back.

The Boks though failed to get a much needed bonus point from the win and the championship title could be gone a week early later tonight should the All blacks stop Argentina in Buenos Aires. Else it will be open to setup a thrilling Boks-Allblacks matchup in the final round next weekend.

Winger Aphiwe Dyantyi's first minute try and conversion from flyhalf Handre Pollard had the Boks 7-0 up early.

Scrum half Faf de Klerk bagged the second try for the Boks on 25 minutes, Pollard adding the extras for a 14-0 lead but Australia responded in the next few minutes with quickfire tries from outside centre Reece Hodge and scrum half Will Genia, the latter booted in by Matt Toomua for the scores to stand at 14-12.

Two penalties from Poland settled it at 20-12 at the interval and one more penalty within the first five minutes of the second half ended the contest. 

During their last meeting on 8 September in Brisbane, Australia beat the Boks 23-18. 


South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk; 1 Tendai Mtawarira, 2 Malcolm Marx, 3 Frans Malherbe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe.

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Damian Willemse.

Australia: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty; 14 Israel Folau, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Marika Koroibete; 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Will Genia; 1 Scott Sio, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3 Taniela Tupou, 4 Adam Coleman; 5 Izack Rodda, 6 Ned Hanigan; 7 Michael Hooper (c), 8 David Pocock.

Replacements: 16 Folau Faingaa, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Rory Arnold, 20 Rob Simmons, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Bernard Foley, 23 Jack Maddocks.

Raga House
Related Articles
Leave a comment