D Getty Images
Blitzboks, Uganda set for Oktoberfest 7s
By Eric Njiru | Mon 14 Aug, 2017 07:55

12 national sides are set to compete at the DHL Oktoberfest 7s set for September 29-30 in Munich, Germany.

It is going to be the biggest rugby show Germany has ever seen welcoming 2016/2017 HSBC World Sevens Series champions South Africa, England, France and Australia.

Africa 7s champions Uganda will be joining South Africa as continent representatives as Chile will be representing South Africa. Spain, who just attained core status, will also make an appearance.

Oktoberfest 7s will see two days of nonstop action with 18 matches per day. Hosts Germany and European Championship Ireland being other teams taking part.

The inaugural DHL Oktoberfest Sevens will be held at the iconic Olympic Stadium of Munich, Germany. The 69,000 capacity stadium was the main venue for the 1972 Olympic games and also served as the home ground of Germany’s most successful soccer team Bayern Munich until 2005.

An annual amateur rugby tournament has been held during the Oktoberfest celebrations by the local Munich Rugby Football club since 1978. This tournament will be incorporated as the ‚Oktoberfest 7s Classics‘ in the overall tournament proceedings, giving amateur players the opportunity to play themselves and watch the elite teams battle it out for the main title at the Olympic stadium.

Oktoberfest 7s teams
Fiji, South Africa, England, Germany, Australia, France, Argentina, Ireland, Spain, Chile, Uganda.

Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Leave a comment