S Blitzboks Images
Blitzboks in Nairobi for Safari 7s
By Eric Njiru | Fri 18 Oct, 2019 10:21

2018 HSBC World Sevens Series champions South Africa arrived in Nairobi on Friday morning ahead of the 23rd edition of Safari 7s set for Saturday Oct 19, 2019 at RFUEA Grounds.

The Blitzboks are one of the three World Sevens Series core sides competing at the Safari 7s as preps for the 2020 seasons heats top gear.

Read Also: Injera set for first Safari 7s since 2012

“Late evening departure to Kenya for the squad to contest the Safari 7s on Saturday and Sunday. Good luck to the team, well done to the four new players on tour with the group for the first time,” tweeted Springboks Sevens. 

Blitzboks will hold a training session on Friday morning at Peponi School in Nairobi -open to the media- before continuing with a closed session later on.

South Africa are first seeds for the tournament and will contest Pool A against Uganda, Morans and Burundi. The other squads are Samurai, Western Province, Narvskaya Zastava and Red Wailers (Pool B), Shujaa, Blue Bulls, Russia Academy and Zambia (Pool C) and Spain, Zimbabwe, Seventise and KCB (Pool D).

The SA playing schedule for Saturday is 9.50am against Burundi, 12.40pm against Kenya 7s Morans and 4.30pm against Uganda 7s. 

SA squad for Safari 7s:

1. Divan Enslin 2. Angelo Davids 3. Impi Visser 4. Luyanda Mngadi 5. James Murphy 6. Shilton van Wyk 7. Andrew Kota 8. Selvyn Davids 9. Darren Adonis 10. Cecil Afrika 11. Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain) 12. Stedman Gans

Management: Renfred Dazel (coach), Hugh Everson (physio), Ashley Evert (manager)

Eric Njiru
Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment