Big boys out for Prinsloo champions KCB
By Patrick Korir | Thu 19 Jul, 2018 09:19

Nakuru’s Prinsloo Sevens will set off the six-part National Sevens Circuit on from 21-22 July and with days to the opening leg defending Champions KCB have announced their readiness for the event.

According to Philip Wamae, a member of the KCB technical bench, the bankers have been going through their paces in recent weeks and are all but set for the event the team won last year with a 29-5 dispatch of home team Nakuru RFC.

Also read Kabras seeded top for Prinsloo 7s

KCB will be without some of their big boys who are out for National team duties either with the Kenya 15s or Kenya Sevens but as Wamae puts it, KCB will hit Nakuru with a good mix. He talks of the excitement there is in being in a group with host team Nakuru RFC, one they took out for the trophy in 2017, and the expected blend of players they will parade.

“Training has been going on well in the past eight or so weeks. So far so good. We have been playing our cards on the low as there has be no club rugby going on in the recent past,”

“There is no pressure on the boys for being defending champions. Being pooled with home team Nakuru as well as Nondies and Webuye puts us in an exciting position,” added Wamae

KCB will play without Kenya Simbas quartet of captain Davies Chenge, Darwin Mukidza, Martin Owila and Jacob Ojee as well as Kenya 7s star Amonde Andrew who is out at the Sevens World Cup in San Francisco –USA, players that were part of the setup that rested Prinsloo last year. 

“We will not use our players in the national team setup for the first three legs but we will have a good mix of experience and young players. Remember we won the ESS (Eric Shirley) and we have a good set of players who want to showcase their talents and pull themselves up,”

Wamae who is now concentrating on his managerial duties brilliantly sidestepped the question on whether KCB will retain their title and Prinsloo. He said; “We will play a game at a time, one tournament at a time and leap past one hurdle at time." 

KCB start their title defense against Webuye on Saturday at 11.50am. Next up will be a game against Nondies at 2.40pm and finally against Nakuru at 5.30pm in what will be a repeat of last years final. 

KCB’s squad that won Prinsloo in 2017

1. Amonde Andrew 2. Owilah Martin 3. Chenge Davis 4. Abeka Stafford 5. Nato Collins 6. Owira Arthur 7. Wanjala Michael 8. Kimwele Michael 9. Asati Samuel 10. Ahmed Shaban 11. Njoroge Issac 12. Otieno Elphas 13. Mukidza Darwin 14. Ojee Jacob 15. Ojema Benjamin

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment