. Daystar Falcons beat Mean Machine 10-5 on Sun 18 Aug 2019 at Nakuru Athletics Club to be crowned the new Prinsloo 7s Div 2 champions. Photo - courtesy
Battle for Stanbic 7s Div II title set for Mombasa
By Raga House | Wed 04 Sep, 2019 15:54

Battle for Stanbic 7s Div II will go down to the wire as up to three teams have a real chance of being crowned champions at Driftwood 7s in Mombasa from Sat Sep 7, 2019.

Daystar Falcons, Makueni RFC, Mombasa and Shamas Foundation occupy the top 4 position going to the last leg with 64, 55 and 53 points respectively. Hosts Mombasa RFC are third with 55 points but are out of contention since they’ll be competing in the top division.

Prize money

Falcons bagged 10 points in Kakamega, 17 in Kabeberi, 15 in Dala and 22 in Nakuru while Makueni bagged 17 in Kakamega, 13 in Meru, 12 in Kisumu, 5 in Nakuru and eight in Christies. 

Shamas had 15 in Kabeberi, eight in Kisumu, 15 in Nakuru and Christie as well as missing Kakamega 7s.

Daystar are seeded top at Driftwood 7s where they'll play Masaku, Bungoma and KSL as Makueni takes on Stingers, Molo and Dagoretti Bulldogs in pool E while Shamas will play KCA, TUM and Zetech University in pool C. 

Overall Division Two Winners and runners up will claim the prize money of Kshs. 150,000 and 50,000 respectively.

Defending Div II champions Egerton Wasps - playing more Division one rugby this season -  are currently placed 18th in the standings with 19 points. They took the crown last year despite a final fall to MMUST at season-ending Christie 7s. 

Driftwood 7s Div II draw: 
A: Daystar, Masaku, Bungoma, KSL 
B: SC Pirates, Stormers, Malindi, Spartans 
C: Shamas, KCA, TUM, Zetech University
D: Catholic Monks, Kiambu, Comras, TUM 
E: Stingers, Makueni, Molo, Dagoretti Bulldogs 
F: Embu, Kenya Prisons, Vihiga Granites, Meru

Div II Standings heading to Driftwood 7s:

1.Daystar Falcons 64 
2.Makueni RFC 55 
3.Mombasa RFC 55
4.Shamas 53 
5.Catholic Monks 47 
6.AP Rugby 41 
7.Mean Machine 41 
8.Vihiga Granites 37 
9.Embu 32 
10.KCA 26 
11.Kenya Harlequin 22 
12.Northern Suburbs 22 
13.Vumbi 22 
14.Kisii RFC 22 
15.Stingers 22 
16.Molo 19
17.Blak Blad 19 
18.Egerton Wasps 19 
19.South Coast Pirates 14 
20.KCAA Stormers 13 
21.Kiambu RFC 13

Raga House
Related Articles
Leave a comment