F Acre-Half Photos
Agero starts as Mwamba's Mbari return
By Eric Njiru | Fri 29 Nov, 2019 15:07

After bagging their first win of the season last weekend, Kenya Harlequin go again on matchday 6 of the 2019/20 Kenya Cup as they seek to stop Mwamba RFC and register a second win on the bounce.

Quins head coach Dominique Habimana named a midfield combination of Eden Agero and Patrice Agunda with the former replacing Jacob Okumba who is not part of the matchday 23.

“Our defense worked for us and it has been our biggest challenges in these past weeks. We looked at all our challenges and realized our defense was very predictable so heading into this match, we worked on making it difficult for our opponent to attack us,” Habimana told Kenya Cup Website after the win over Oilers last week. 

Lock Malcolm Onsando comes in for Mike Onsando as Brighton Mwalawa is replaced by Mark Omoding.

Read Also: Nakuru, Impala change one as Ochola returns to NAC

As Quins find themselves at 9th place with six points, Mwamba are fifth with 16 points after three wins in five matches.

Mwambarugby.com reports that Jonah Mbari comes back to the starting line up at tighthead in place of Deus Mudaki who drops to the bench. He will be joined in the front by Brian Kahura (hooker) and Eugene Sudi (loosehead). In the locks, the dependable duo of Chris Asira and George Omolla continue with their duties. 

Alex Aturo switches from left wing to openside flanker alongside the experienced pair of Tony Owuor and Edwin Machanje. 

Charles Chege will form a new half-back partnership with Michael Agevi as the first choice number 10 Tony Omondi is out with ankle sustained in last week's 27-17 victory over Nondescript. Patrick Ruhiu and Tendwa Sabala continue with their midfield duties. 

Kenya Harlequin

15. Eric Shikuku 14. Brian Onyiego 13. Patrice Agunda – VC 12. Eden Agero 11. Dennis Otieno 10. Lyle Asiligwa 9. Dominic Osino  1. Elisha Koronya 2. Brian Waraba 3. Ayub Kimutai 4. Malcolm Onsando 5. Roxy Dan Suchi 6. Mark Omoding 7. Herman Humwa 8. Kevin Angote - C

16. Boniface Ochieng 17. Brian Obwaya 18. Mike Mugo 19. Mike Onsando 20. Levi Masika 21. Nick Ndegwa 22. Idi Kakai 23. Pius Shiundu

15. Meshack Obota. 14. Joel Inzuga 13. Sabala Tendwa. 12. Patrick Ruhiz. (C) 11. Felix Otieno. 10. Michael Agevi. 9. Charles Chege. 1. Jonah Mbari. 2. Brian Kahura. 3. Eugene Sudi. 4. George Omolla. 5. Christopher Asira. 6. Tony Owuor. 7. Alex Arturo. 8. Edwin Machanje. 

16. Salaton Mutuiri. 17. Deus Mudaki. 18. Tom Soteri.19. Moses Oola. 20. Stephen Wangondu. 21. Ronnie Omondi. 22. Jeremy Chimwani. 23. George Mutuku.

Eric Njiru
Award-winning, bold, independent Rugby Journalist and Radio Presenter in Kenya, Southern Hemisphere with experience in Match-Day Reporting, News and Interviews. Covering Kenya 7s around the World. Email: ericnjiru41@gmail.com +254726205521
Leave a comment