M World Rugby
2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens dream teams
By Patrick Korir | Mon 23 Jul, 2018 09:46

Three English silver medalists at the Rugby World Cup Sevens made it to the best seven list as the showpiece concluded on Monday 23 July at the AT & T Stadium in San Francisco, USA.

They include forward Phil Burgess and backs Harry Glover and Tom Mitchell. The three were joined by two Fijian-born players Tavite Veredamu and Josefa Lilidamu who turned out for France and Japan, respectively.

Also read New Zealand are RWC 7s champions

Not to miss out on the list were Dylan Collier and Joe Ravouvou who led New Zealand to a second straight Rugby Sevens World Cup trophy, and the third overall.

Two for Glover

Though not on the winning side, it proved to be a perfect tournament for Harry Glover who was alo named the Tudor Breakthrough Player of the Tournament.

 Another for Joe

All Blacks 7s ace Joe Ravouvou was also awarded the UL Mark of Excellence Award for his starring role across the three days at the World Cup. He was also named the top try scorer at the event with six tries alongside South Africa flyer Siviwe Soyizwapi.

 Scott Curry of New Zealand was named the The AIG Player of the Final his side won 33-12 over England to successfully defend their title as the All Blacks 7s Clark Laidlaw was named the Capgemini Coach of the Tournament. 

Men dream team

Tavite Veredamu (France), Dylan Collier (New Zealand), Phil Burgess (England), Josefa Lilidamu (Japan), Harry Glover, Tom Mitchell (Both England), Joe Ravouvou (New Zealand)

Also read New Zealand retain Women's Rugby 7s title

Earlier on Sunday Sarah Gross, Vani Pelite, Michaela Blyde and Portia Woodman from back-to-back Rugby Sevens World Cup Champions New Zealand were named to the Women's Dream team.

 Anne-Cecile Ciofani and Lina Guerin both from finalists France and the outstanding Naya Tapper from fourth place finishers USA completed the list.

Standout Michaela Blyde was named the top try scorer at the event as well as the AIG Women's Player of the Final and the Tudor Women's Breakthrough Player of the Tournament went to French star Anne-Cecile Ciofani.

France coach David Courteix was awarded the Capgemini Women's Coach of the Tournament.

Women dream team

Saah Gross, Vani Pelite (both New Zealand), Anne-Cecile Ciofani (France), Naya Tapper (USA), Michaela Blyde (New Zealand), Lina Guerin (France), Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

Patrick Korir
Related Articles
Leave a comment