S Safari 7s
14 teams confirmed for Safari 7s so far
By Raga House | Wed 20 Oct, 2021 14:38

A total of 14 teams have so far confirmed their participation in the Safari Sevens which will be held on 30th and 31st October at the Nyayo National Stadium in Nairobi.

There are a total of 10 confirmations in the men’s competition thus far. They include South Africa All Stars, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Samurai, Red Wailers, Stallion Sevens Nigeria, KCB, Kenya U20, Kenya Shujaa and Kenya Morans.

There are 4 confirmations in the women’s competition including Zimbabwe, South Africa Select as well as the two Kenya Lionesses squads. More confirmations and information around the tournament is expected in subsequent.

First played in 1996, the Safari Sevens returns after it’s cancellation in 2020 owing to the Covid-19 pandemic which paralyzed sporting activities globally.

Previous Safari Sevens Winners

1996- Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
1997- Kenya
1998-Bristol University (England)
1999- Public Schools Wanderers (U.K)
2000 -Shujaa
2001- British Army (U.K)
2002- British Army (U.K)
2003 – Kenya
2004 -Kenya
2005- Samoa
2006- Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2007- Emerging Springboks (South Africa)
2008- Kenya
2009- Kenya
2010- Kenya
2011- Samoa
2012- South Africa Elite Player Development
2013- Shujaa
2014 -Welsh Warriors (Wales)
2015- Samurai
2016- Shujaa
2018 -Samurai
2019- Morans

*The tournament was cancelled in 2017 due to the prevailing political situation in the country as result of that year's General Election while the Covid-19 pandemic led to its cancellation in 2020

-By KRU Media

Kenya Cup   Safari 7s  
Raga House
Leave a comment