N Namibia
10 teams set for most thrilling Africa 7s
By Eric Njiru | Tue 19 Sep, 2017 15:11

10 teams will head to Uganda on the weekend of October 6 and 7, 2017 for what will be the most thrilling Africa Sevens tournament.

The main goal will be to qualify for the Sevens World Cup to be held in USA in 2018 where two teams will go through.

The same two teams, finalists, will also qualify for next year’s Commonwealth Games to be staged by Australia.

The two will also gain automatic entry into the World Sevens Series qualifier tournament to be held in Hong Kong in 2018. The next edition expected to have stakes high will be 2019 when Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualifiers will be happening. 

Kenya Sevens and South Africa will not take part meaning it will be between the non-core teams for the prestigious tickets.

Joining hosts Uganda will be Botswana, Madagascar, Namibia, Tunisia, Zambia, Ghana, Morocco, Senegal and Zimbabwe.

Tunisia, Namibia, Uganda and Zimbabwe are favorites to win the Africa 7s even though the likes of Morocco and Zambia cannot be under-estimated.

Twenty-four teams participate in the men's World Cup Sevens. Nine teams automatically qualify — eight by reaching the quarterfinals at the 2013 Rugby World Cup Sevens, and one host nation.

Uganda is the defending champions after beating Namibia in 2016 in Nairobi. The Cranes have since participated in the Sevens qualifiers finishing fourth and will make an appearance at the Oktoberfest in Germany later in September where they will play top sides like England and South Africa.

Ghana is set to make their debut in a year everyone is targeting to reach a cup final to gain the three available places.

A total of sixteen men's teams and eight women's team will qualify to compete at the Commonwealth games. 

If what happened at the just concluded Africa Women’s Sevens is something to go by, the men’s tournament will be one not to miss in Kampala.  

Kenya Cup   Africa 7s  
Eric Njiru
ericnjiru41@gmail.com 0726205521
Related Articles
Leave a comment